Hit and Run Penalties Get a Bit Tougher - Victor Dante, P.A. Attorney At Law.
DANTE LAW FIRMP.A.1911 NE 164th St North Miami Beach,FL33162
Free Consultation No Fees/costs Unless You Get Money!
Our Latest Blog
All Serious Accidents
| Under Car Accident, Hit and Run Accident | Posted by Dante Law Firm, P.A.

Hit and Run Penalties Get a Bit Tougher

No matter where you live in the United States, leaving the scene of an accident is a serious offense. Most recently, however, local authorities and lawmakers in Florida are taking the offense more seriously than they have in the past. In the state of Florida, lawmakers just passed the “Aaron Cohen Life Protection Act,” named after Miami cyclist Aaron Cohen, who was killed in a hit and run accident in 2012.

In 2012, recorded hit and run accidents in the state of Florida came in just shy of 70,000. In order to crack down on these offenders, the new bill makes convicted hit and run drivers serve a mandatory prison sentence of four years or more, depending on the severity of the accident. In addition, if you are convicted of a Florida hit and run accident, the court is also required to revoke your drivers license for at least three years.

Why do people run?

There are many reasons a person might flee the scene of a Florida hit and run accident. Some of the more common reasons are:

  • Warrant out for their arrest
  • Driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol
  • The driver is uninsured
  • Driving illegally
  • Illegal firearms in vehicle

If you are involved in a hit and run or if you witness a hit and run accident, it is crucial to try and get the license plate number, make and model of the car that was involved, and immediately report the accident to local authorities.

Once you have reported the accident and treated your injuries, it is important to contact an experienced Miami hit and run accident lawyer. Your hit and run accident attorney will be able to explain all of the legal options that are available to you. Your attorney will also be able to negotiate with insurance companies on your behalf and ensure that you have the money you need to recover–especially if the “at-fault” driver is never found.

24 hours / 7 days
We Must Win or You Pay Nothing!
* fields are required